Frequently asked questions

Do merci products contain ingredients from animal sources?

In addition to plant-based ingredients, we use dairy products to make our merci chocolates. The merci Finest Selection Assorted Crispy Almond Chocolates also contain chicken egg white.

Do merci products contain alcohol?

Alcohol is not an ingredient of merci chocolates. However, some of the flavourings in the chocolate fillings may contain alcohol as they can only be extracted with the aid of alcohol and therefore come into contact with alcohol during the extraction process. Only a small volume of alcohol reaches the end product; it is roughly equivalent to the volume of alcohol that ordinary fruit juices contain due to the natural fermentation of the fruit.

Are merci products gluten-free?

Most merci products meet Health Canada standards for gluten-free foods (no more than 20 ppm of gluten per product),  however, we have chosen not to label our products as "gluten-free" at this time.  If you have a gluten allergy, we recommend that you speak to your physician before consuming our product.


The only exception is the merci Finest Selection Assorted Crispy Almond variety, which contains wheat protein and wheat malt.


This information applies to our current recipes and may change as the recipes do. Please refer to the list of ingredients on the product packaging.